Conference
Future of Monetary Archival Appraisal
in Canada
was held in Ottawa on October 22-23, 2007

The proceedings of the Conference on the Future of Monetary Archival Appraisal in Canada are now available in PDF form on our site in separate English and French versions. The conference was attended by more than 157 NAAB and independent appraisers, representatives from archival institutions, professional archivists from across Canada, recent and future graduates from information science, history and archives programs, as well as stakeholders and leaders within the Canadian archival system.


Click here to download a copy of the proceedings.


The NAAB website is still under development. New content will be added gradually over the next few months. Thank you for your patience!

Feel free to send us your questions at: naab@archivescanada.ca

 

WHO ARE WE?

The National Archival Appraisal Board (NAAB) is an independent not-for-profit corporation created to provide appraisal services for donations of archival records to Canadian cultural institutions.  Its services are provided to institutions at arm’s length by qualified professionals at the lowest cost possible.


Background

Monetary appraisals of archival donations were first undertaken in 1971 under the aegis of a committee of the Canadian Historical Association composed of three historians and two archivists.  The National Archival Appraisal Board was established in 1976 to continue the work under more formal arrangements.  NAAB became an independent not-for-profit organization when it incorporated in 1983.  Its objectives have remained the same throughout that period:

1.      To serve the need for reasonably priced expert appraisal services among Canadian archival repositories;

2.      To promote greater understanding of the appraisal process among archivists and others working with archival material by encouraging research and organizing seminars and conferences;

3.      To provide a balanced approach to the appraisal process by the inclusion of archivists, dealers and researchers familiar with the value of archival documents.
 

NAAB’s services

NAAB conducts its work by appointing appraisal committees that examine donations of archival materials, determine their monetary value and prepare a report on the monetary value of each donation.  In accordance with provincial and federal tax regulations concerning donations in kind, the institution can then issue its donor a receipt for the value stated on the appraisal report. 

Appraisal committees are generally appointed by a regional director or assistant. A NAAB appraisal committee is usually composed of at least one archivist, one researcher and one dealer.  In special cases, additional members may be appointed when the nature of the material requires particular expertise.

NAAB appraisal committees are responsible for the determination of the fair market value of the archival donations submitted by the institution. The definition of the fair market value is that used by the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board; it is understood to be “the highest price, expressed in terms of money, that the property would bring in an open and unrestricted market between a willing buyer and a willing seller who are both knowledgeable, informed, and prudent, and who are acting independently of each other”.


Governance


NAAB’s affairs are directed by a Chairman (Ken Larose), a Vice-Chairman (Marcel Caya) and a board of seven members, six of whom represent a region of the country: Atlantic (Burton Glendenning), Quebec (Marcel Caya), Ontario (Karen Teeple), West (Doug Cass), B.C. and Yukon (George Brandak), National Capital (Ottawa and vicinity) ( Jim Burant). For details, go to the "Using our services" page.

 

Secretariat

NAAB’s Secretariat is provided by the office of the Canadian Council of Archives. All correspondence should be addressed to:

 

NAAB Secretariat
c/o CCA
130 Albert Street, Suite 1201
Ottawa ON K1P 5G4
E-mail

 

Tel.: (613) 565-1222 ext. 191
Toll free number: 1-866-254-1403
Fax: (613) 565-5445

Nouvelles du Groupe de travail sur l’avenir du CNÉA

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur le sondage à venir du CNÉA

newsfaq
film

Section "FAQ" à venir

Si vous avez des questions, vous pouvez nous les addresser à l’adresse suivante : naab@archivescanada.ca


 

QUI NOUS SOMMES

Le Conseil national d’évaluation des archives (CNÉA) est un organisme sans but lucratif indépendant créé pour fournir aux institutions culturelles canadiennes des services d’évaluation professionnels de dons d’archives aux institutions culturelles canadiennes. Ses services sont dispensés aux institutions de façon indépendante par des professionnels compétents au meilleur coût possible.


Historique

Les premières évaluations monétaires ont été réalisées en 1971 sous la gouverne d’un comité de la Société historique du Canada composé de trois historiens et de deux archivistes.  Le Conseil national d’évaluation des archives fut formé en 1976 pour continuer le travail de façon plus systématique.  Le CNEA est devenu un organisme indépendant sans but lucratif lors de son incorporation en 1983.  Ses objectifs sont demeurés les mêmes tout au long de cette période :

1.      Offrir des services compétents d’évaluation monétaire à des coûts raisonnables aux institutions d’archive du Canada ;

2.      Favoriser une meilleure compréhension de l’évaluation auprès des archivistes et autres utilisateurs de documents d’archives en encourageant la recherche et en organisant des séminaires et des réunions ;

3.      Promouvoir un équilibre dans la réalisation d’évaluation en incluant des archivistes, des marchands et des chercheurs connaissant la valeur des documents d’archives.


Les services du CNEA

Le CNEA réalise sa mission en réunissant des comités d’évaluation qui examinent les dons d’archives, établissent leur valeur monétaire et rédigent un rapport sur leur juste valeur marchande.  L’institution peut ensuite émettre un reçu au donateur pour la valeur énoncée dans le rapport d’évaluation en accord avec les règles fiscales pertinentes des juridictions provinciales et fédérale sur les dons en espèce.

Les comités d’évaluation sont habituellement formés par le directeur régional ou son assistant.  Un comité d’évaluation se compose normalement d’au moins un archiviste, d’un chercheur et d’un marchand.  Ses membres sont des archivistes, des historiens et des marchands de livres et manuscrits choisis selon leurs connaissances des archives et des conditions du marché et leur aptitude à évaluer la valeur de recherche et l’intérêt institutionnel de document et de fonds spécifiques.  D’autres types d’experts peuvent s’adjoindre à un comité, lorsque nécessaire, pour aider à l’évaluation d’un don présentant des caractéristiques particulières.

Les comités d’évaluation sont responsables de l’établissement de la juste valeur marchande des dons qui leur sont présentés par une institution.  La définition de la juste valeur marchande est celle qui est utilisée par la Commission d’examen des exportations de biens culturels;  on comprend qu’elle est «le prix le plus élevé, exprimé en espèces, qu’un bien rapporterait sur le marché libre, dans une transaction entre un vendeur et un acheteur consentants qui seraient indépendants l’un de l’autre et qui agiraient en toute connaissance de cause»


Direction du CNEA


Le CNEA est dirigé par un Président (Ken Larose), un Vice-président (Marcel Caya), et un conseil d’administration composé de sept membres dont six représentent chacun une région du pays : Atlantique (Burton Glendenning), Québec (Marcel Caya), Ontario (Karen Teeple), Ouest (Doug Cass), C. B. et Yukon (George Brandak), Capitale nationale (Ottawa et environs) (Jim Burant). Pour plus d'information, visitez la page "Nos services".


Secrétariat

Le Secrétariat du CNEA est sous la responsabilité du Secrétariat du Conseil canadien de Archives.  La correspondance devrait être adressée au :

Secrétariat du CNEA
a/s CCA
130, rue Albert, Bureau 1912
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5G4
Courriel

Tél.: (613) 565-1222 poste 191
Numéro sans frais: 1-866-254-1403
Télécopieur : (613) 565-5445