Future of NAAB Working Group News

Click here for information on the upcoming NAAB survey 2016



FAQ coming soon

Feel free to send us your questions at: naab@archivescanada.ca

 

USING OUR SERVICES

NAAB seeks to advise and assist institutions in the preparation of donations for tax credits.

To obtain an appraisal from the National Archives Appraisal Board, we ask the institution for the following requirements:

  • A signed donation agreement to ensure that the institution owns the material to be appraised.
  • That the material be arranged and described to facilitate an appropriate examination of the records. Appraisers need to know what they are appraising to do a fair and accurate appraisal. A good finding aid saves appraisers’ time and institutions’ money and can increase the amount of tax credit for the donor.
  • An archival appraisal of the donation of records that provides some background and history of the material, significance and relevance of records to the institution. NAAB’s role is to provide a determination of the fair market value; the archival report is the lead document in assessing its heritage value.
  • A conservation report that describes the overall condition of the material and highlights any conservation concerns/issues. This is particularly important for photographic and audio visual documents as technical condition has a major impact on its value.
  • Provide copies of the finding aid, appraisal and conservation report (where applicable) to the regional director or chair of the appraisal committee, at least 10 days prior to the session, to allow the committee members to prepare themselves
  • Provide a suitable space for the committee’s work.

When the regional director has received a request from an institution, he/she will schedule an appraisal session and appoints the members of the Appraisal Committee for that session.

NAAB is prepared to do an appraisal within ten days of receiving a finding aid that generally makes it possible to review the content description and listing before our arrival. The finding aid should include an administrative/biographical note, scope and content note, physical extent, significance and highlights of the collection. Appraisers will not be able to view or audition all items in a large fonds, therefore a sample selection of documents within the fonds, representing its strengths and weakness and different genres of documents is helpful. Large donations that contain photographs should include the number and sizes of each of the various photographic formats eg. number of 5x7s, 8x10s, 11x14s etc. and also indicate the same should there be any transparencies and/or slides.

Once the on-site appraisal has been undertaken, a report is prepared that can be used by the institution to issue the necessary income tax receipt. Please advise us if it is your intention to prepare an application to the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board.

NAAB is represented in six regions.  They can be contacted by e-mail.

 

Atlantic:
director: Burton Glendenning
assistant: Julie Morris
 

 

Quebec:
director: Marcel Caya
assistant: Guy Dinel
 

 

Ontario:
director: Karen Teeple
assistant: Henri Pilon
 

 

West:
director: Doug Cass
assistant: Gilles Lesage
 

 

B.C. and Yukon:
director: George Brandak
assistant: Steve Lunsford
 

 

National Capital (Ottawa and vicinity):
director: Jim Burant
assistant: Ken Larose

Nouvelles du Groupe de travail sur l’avenir du CNÉA

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur le sondage à venir du CNÉA

newsfaq
film

Section "FAQ" à venir

Si vous avez des questions, vous pouvez nous les addresser à l’adresse suivante : naab@archivescanada.ca


 

NOS SERVICES

Le CNÉA conseille et aide les institutions à préparer les dons en vue de l’émission de reçus aux fins de l’impôt.

Pour obtenir une évaluation du Conseil national d’évaluation des archives, nous demandons que les institutions fournissent ce qui suit.

  • Un contrat de donation signé pour confirmer que l’institution est réellement propriétaire des documents.
  • Les documents doivent être organisés et décrits de manière à en faciliter l’examen. Les évaluateurs doivent savoir ce qu’ils évaluent afin de pouvoir effectuer une évaluation juste et exacte. De bons instruments de recherche facilitent la tâche de l’évaluateur, font épargner de l’argent aux institutions et augmentent la valeur du crédit d’impôt pour le donateur.
  • Une évaluation archivistique du don de documents qui donne des antécédents et un historique des documents, leur importance et leur pertinence pour l’institution. Le mandat du CNÉA consiste à déterminer la juste valeur marchande et le rapport archivistique représente le document principal pour en déterminer la valeur documentaire.
  • Un rapport de conservation décrivant l’état général des documents ainsi que les problèmes/questions liés à leur conservation. Ceci est particulièrement important pour les photographies et les documents audiovisuels, car la condition technique est très importante dans la détermination de la valeur.
  • Acheminer des exemplaires des instruments de recherche, du rapport d’évaluation archivistique et de conservation (au moins préliminaires) au directeur régional ou au président du comité d’évaluation, au moins 10 jours avant la séance, pour permettre au comité de se préparer.
  • Fournir des bureaux adéquats au comité pour qu’il puisse s’acquitter de son mandat.

Lorsqu’il reçoit une demande d’une institution, le directeur régional organise une séance d’évaluation et nomme les membres du Comité d’évaluation de cette séance.

Le CNÉA est prêt à faire une évaluation dans les dix jours suivant la réception d’instruments de recherche permettant d’examiner la description et le contenu des documents avant son arrivée. L’instrument de recherche doit être accompagné d’une note administrative/bibliographique, d’une précisant l’envergure et le contenu, l’ampleur physique, l’importance et les éléments saillants de la collection. Les évaluateurs ne pourront regarder ou écouter tous les éléments d’un fonds important, c’est pourquoi il est utile de fournir un échantillon de documents du fonds représentant ses forces et ses faiblesses et différents types de documents. Les grands dons contenant des photographies devraient inclure le nombre et les dimensions de chaque format photographique – p. ex., le nombre de 5x7, 8x10, 11x14, etc. – et faire de même pour les transparents et/ou diapositives.

Après l’évaluation sur place, nous rédigeons un rapport que l’institution peut utiliser pour émettre un reçu aux fins de l’impôt. Vous devez mentionner si vous comptez soumettre une demande à la Commission canadienne d’examen des exportations de biens culturels.

Le CNEA a des représentants dans ses six régions. On peut communiquer avec eux par courrier électronique.

 

Atlantique :
directeur : Burton Glendenning
assistant : Julie Morris
 

 

Québec :
directeur : Marcel Caya
assistant : Guy Dinel
 

 

Ontario :
directeur : Karen Teeple
assistant : Henri Pilon
 

 

Ouest :
directeur : Doug Cass
assistant : Gilles Lesage
 

 

C.B. et Yukon :
directeur : George Brandak
assistant : Steve Lunsford
 

 

Capitale nationale (Ottawa et environs) :
director : Jim Burant
assistant : Ken Larose